Some people would say that parents should pay their children for small home duties (cleaning, washing dishes). Other would disagree.

There two different approaches to the upbringing of children. On one side are those who believe that children should be paid for doing domestic chores, while others disagree. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my own opinion on the matter. On the one hand, the idea to give money to youngsters might look appealing because it would encourage children to clean and do house duties. As well as this, they would earn their own pocket money and learn an important lesson of the value of labor. For instance, my younger brother hates to clean up his own room, and at the same time, he always needs some extra money to spend on cinema, food courts, etc. In this kind of cases, earning money for house chores would be an extra stimulation to do it. However, it is possible to make the opposite case. This is because many parents would argue that paying children for small tasks such as washing dishes leads to spoiling the youth. This way they might start to act as if parents have to give them money for good behavior otherwise they can do whatever they want. Meanwhile, the main task of upbringing is to bring up responsible, diligent, and tidy people. They should not wait for an award for just regular daily tasks such as cleaning the floor or washing their own things. In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their own merits, on balance, however, I think that parents should give pocket money to the youngsters but not as a payment for the household chores.