Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

It is true that imprisonment helps the offenders to develop an acceptable character in the society and family. Even though ex-offenders can teach about the consequences of crime very clearly, I am of the opinion that they are not role models for the teenagers due to various reasons. To start with, teenagers should not learn the effects of illegal activities from the ex-lawbreakers as this way of learning may cause to generate a tendency for imitating such activities in children’s minds, especially who have a lack of maturity and curiosity. Moreover, since ex-offenders have the past history of crime, they are not ideal individuals to teach the younger generation effectively. Social stigma is another factor, which means that social leaders often try to keep away the ex-prisoners from the mainstream of society owing to social status issues. Consequently, they are reinforced to engage in criminal activities repeatedly and they would also be terribly isolated. Again, each society has their own prestigious law enforcement system to promote legal awareness in children, which is more effective teaching than learning from the ex-offenders. As such, ex-prisoners are not required to guide teenagers in spite of jail life experience for a certain period of time. An ideal example would be the organisation of awareness programmes of the police department in school settings in India. In contrast, there is another line of thought that ex-prisoners are the ideal teachers to make awareness among children regarding the detrimental effects of criminal offences because they have real life exposure in such tough situations. Apart from this, these bitter lessons about punishments can create a strong influence in children, which in turn can generate an innate fear in them to involve any criminal activity. Eventually, children would deter from lawbreaking activities and they become productive citizens in future. Nevertheless, it cannot be denied that the ex-prisoners have a clear criminal background and an inner desire to perform such activities again. To conclude, despite certain advantages, ex-offenders cannot be effective mentors in teaching ill effects of offences due to many challenges.