Some people warn that the era of the silver screen is coming to an end and that people will eventually lose interest in going to the cinema.

In the 21st century, cinemas have become ubiquitous. However, being widespread movie theatres aren't able to lure people to spend their leisure time. It is agreed that gradually the number of people turn up at theatres is going to decrease in view of current trends.   It is due to ticket prices that have skyrocketed over the last few years along with the advent of online movie rentals and download. Firstly, the cost of tickets has surged in the last decade. For example, it is almost 10 times more that we are spending compared to 1990's. Unfortunately, this is something that has a negative impact which is difficult to encounter despite the advanced technology, better sitting and ease of booking. Thus, it makes it clear why the future of big screen is bleak. Secondly, the introduction of online movie libraries for rentals as well as downloads at affordable prices. For instance, iTunes and Netflix have jumped into this area to offer customers economical options to buy or rent movies. It’s more appealing to stay in and watch something on a computer screen or tablet with no physical constraints. Therefore, it’s hard to imagine for people to show up at cinemas. The environment of the cinema halls and the quality of movies are also in question. Very few families nowadays go to cinema while this was a common trend even in later 90’s. To summarise, it is the expensive tickets as well as the movie watching options on the internet that have led to the decline of people visiting cinemas to spend their free time. Thus, it is clear why the number of people going to watch a flick will eventually decrease further in years to come.