Some people warn that the era of the silver screen is coming to an end and that people will eventually lose interest in going to the cinema.

It is believed that the popularity of cinema theatre is gradually decreasing these days since people will change their interest to other platforms of entertainment. I personally disagree with the statement as there are many people who still love going to the cinema, and the following essay will discuss it in details. On the one hand, it is true that with the rapid development of information technology, people could select various kinds of movie entertainments these days, besides going to the cinema. Some people prefer to purchase or rent the DVD and watch it at home since it is cheaper than going to the cinema. And then, with the existence of internet technology, people could just easily download the film and watch it on their computer. Therefore, a group of people have estimated that the era of cinema theatre will be finished in the next few years. Despite the various offer from other entertainment platforms, it is fascinating to see the number of people who watch films at the cinema have not dropped until today. Many people still choose to watch recommended films at the cinema, since they feel that the experience and the excitement are totally different than at home. The advanced digital effects and the surrounding sound system do affect to the atmosphere and the attraction of the film which satisfy the viewers. And then several people choose to watch movies at the cinema due to they could concentrate more on than at home. They feel that there are many distractions when they watch films at home. For instance, the annoying noise of their little children or pets. As a consequence, cinemas still become one of the favourite entertainment places. In conclusion, some people believe that cinema’s popularity seems to decrease as people choose to see films through other platforms. Although it is true that there are various types of devices which can be used for watching films such as video recorder or DVD player, I personally believe that the number of people who go to cinemas will not decrease, as the sensation and the excitement of watching films in theatres are totally different.