Some people use the internet to take advice for their medical problems rather than seeing a doctor. Do the benefits outweigh the drawback of doing this?

In recent years, technology and social media plays an essential role in many aspects of people’s daily life. Thus, a few individuals would rather search on the internet to get advice and solutions for their illness than go to the hospital. While I accept that this method could have some advantages, I believe that there are more likely to have negative impact in this issue. On the one hand, looking for medical advice online seems to be more convenient base on the benefits of time-consuming, like people could stay at home and just need a laptop with wifi connected. Besides that, getting free advice is also a profit, people could avoid wasting money when they don’t need professional doctors examined them. However, I would argue that to some extends, the drawbacks might exceed the advantages. Even though there are many online platforms which are developed about medical education, most of them have not been written by professional healthcare doctor. Hence, there is a risk of spreading wrong medical information, and their illness may inaccuracy diagnose. Moreover, if your symtoms is significant, then seeing doctor in hospital is absolutely a good decision, because professions could give patients better way to treat and enhance their health. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential harmful impact of this searching medical online is more significant than the benefit