Some people think zoos are cruel and should be closed down others however believe zoos can be useful in protection of animals.

Care of wildlife animals is one of the mooted issue in many parts of the world. A view has been surfacing by plethora of intellectuals that with the development of zoo’s myriad of wildlife creatures are getting benefits, however a large pool of society came up with an argument that many sanctuaries are just waste of money and cruel to animals at the same time hence it should be shut down. This essay will juxtapose the views and will throw light on my perspective. To begin with advocates of maintaining zoo came up with some arguments. Firstly, they believe that keeping animals under the observation of trained staff would be helpful for their long life span as they would get their meal on time along with necessary medication when required. For instance, as per the survey by times 2016 tigers living in sanctuaries live longer than animals in forest. Secondly, owing to the fact that urbanisation has resulted in deforestation therefore more wildlife has no place to live. Hence providing accommodation with proper care is becoming pivotal for a time. Finally, on the other hand it is often observed that awell maintained sanctuary is becoming a main tourist spot which in turn will add to the economy of a nation. Another pool of thought development and maintenance of zoo’s require huge funds and is not a cup of tea for every nation. Secondly, keeping animals in a restricted area would be unfair for animals and may create a sense of dissatisfaction in their minds. Finally, such trend will make beasts less adaptable and more dependable on humans as they would get everything on time without any effort. To illustrate animals in open environment search for whereas animals living in cages are becoming obese and lazy as they get their every meal on time. To conclude this essay discussed the views raised by supporters and protesters of zoo. In my opinion maintaining sanctuaries seems at first glimpse as it would be unfair to keep animals in a restricted area.