Films and games can be accessed at any time from mobile devices like smart phones, tablets and laptop computer. Do the advantages of such development outweigh the disadvantage?

Technological advances in the manufacturing of smart gadgets has made it easier to access many games or film contents at any time. Some argue that this trend is necessary for entertainment, others believe that has an adverse effect on young people. This essay agrees with the later. One of the principal disadvantages of seeing movies and playing games on a smart device, is if not controlled, may have a negative impact on Teenagers. A youngster with unrestricted use of a laptop computer may find it easy to visit an adult website where X rated movies can be downloaded. Thus, may affect a child's academic performance and also social interactions. For example, a survey was conducted in 2018 by the ministry of education in Lagos state, where a group of high school students who owns electronic gadgets were polled. The result showed that majority were struggling with their performance. In addition to the view point expressed above, another consequence as a result of this trend is the encouragement of piracy and copyright infringement. Movie producers and game developers find it difficult to stop the unauthorized distribution and illegal viewing or playing of their work online. According to an Entertainment Weekly article written in April 2019, the number of audience going to the cinema has drastically reduced over the last ten 10 years, coinciding with the increase in the use of mobile phones. Most people now favour watching pirated videos because it's cheaper, hence decreasing the revenue generated by the film/entertainment industry. To conclude, the enjoyments technology brings, such as the entertainment at little or no cost, must be weighed against the drawbacks, such as piracy. Overall, the negative impact on a young person may be more lasting.