Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea, but it takes away some of our freedom. What are your opinions on this?

It is widely accepted that smoking is injurious to health. Moreover, smoking can not only be deadly for first-hand smokers, but it can be hazardous for second-hand smokers. That is why, in order to respect citizens’ rights, some governments put bans on smoking in public places, but some people and NGOs believe it is against human freedom. I strongly believe the prohibition of smoking does not restrict any freedom. I will elaborate on my opinion in the following paragraphs. First of all, people can smoke in private places like home, instead of smoke in public places. It should be considered that when people smoke outside private areas, other people inhale the toxic air which could be harmful for their health. According to the data released by the World Health Organization (WHO), smoking is the biggest cause of oral and lung cancer and even second-hand smokers are equally prone to the disease. Secondly, office authorities can provide smoking cites, based on WHO standards, any designated smoking area must be outside and twenty feet away from entrances and ventilation intakes. Then, employees should be allowed to smoke in that particular rooms, several times per day. Moreover, it would benefit office managers and other non-smoking employees. It is important for first group because, if chain smokers can smoke during workdays, their productivity will not decrease. Then, it is more beneficial for passive smokers in workplaces. A university in Iran conducted an experiment on how smoking in office premises affects second-hand smokers. More than thirty companies took part in this study. They were divided into two categories. The first group included fifteen companies half of whose staffs smoked more than 3 cigarettes a day indoors; another group was the companies that half of whose staffs smoked outdoors. Eventually, Researchers found out the rate of lung cancer among non-smoker staff in the former is approximately three times less than the latter. In brief, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that imposing a restriction on smoking in workplaces and public zones do not against smoker’s freedom because they can smoke in private areas and particular rooms designed for smoking.