Some people think young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should been encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc. to serve society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The significance of higher education and vocational training is often debatable. It is a common believe that kids should go to university to obtain degree whereas, many consider doing technical work will serve society. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss both the views and give my opinion. In today's world where population is increasing rapidly and so does the demand for job. Thus, having some experience on ground level is not enough, therefore acquiring a degree in the same field make the person more eligible for the post. On the other hand there are professions like doctors and engineers who need theoretical knowledge. For instance, a surgeon must have detailed information about the organ to be operated, otherwise it can be fatal for the patient. Hence, university education assist in broadening and gaining experience in one's field. On the other hand, person working as car mechanics or builder have practical experience. Nevertheless, it is beneficial for students who are academically weak on the contrary possess an efficient observation and a good hands on skill. For example, an individual may not be able to name all parts of a device but can mend it like an expert. So enhancing skill is equally important. However, it is a general practice to discriminate work on the basis of level of education, which, needs to be changed. In conclusion, I personally believe having a theoretical understanding along with practical experience is crucial. Moreover, society needs wide spectrum of professionals to serve it and everyone wants their work to be done proficiently and paid generously.