Some people think young people are suitable for learning foreign languages. Some people think adults are more suitable.

It is argued that younger people are more suitable for learning a new language than adults, while others believe the opposite. This essay will discuss both points of view, either younger or older people as better learners, and give reasons behind my opinion. Young people such as children are, indeed, advantaged when talking about learning new skills and foreign languages. But why so? It is proven that a child aged 0-2 years will learn by listening to the sounds that surround him such as words and phrases spoken by his/her parents. As a result, children who are raised in a bilingual family will end up speaking 2 languages as native speakers, which they learned without difficulties. It has to be said that up to a certain age, the brain still develops, so for young people, it' s easier to master a new idiom during school years. On the other hand, not so rarely adults become competent in a language that' s different from their native one without great difficulty. In fact, they can be driven by commitment and purpose to learn - maybe for work reasons, making them the perfect multilingual learners. Furthermore, if a person already knows 2+ languages, it is proved that it will be easier to become proficient in another one. For example, polyglots master their own particular methods to study foreign idioms, and this is something that not every child is capable of doing at a young age, as it requires years of tries and practice. In my opinion, both periods of life are suitable ages to learn, but undoubtedly children who are taught a foreign language at a very young age are advantaged. At the same time, though, adults who are willing to put dedication and patience in the process can master their languages portfolio.