Some people think we do not need museums any more in the modern world.

Nowadays, the development of worldwide web has led leads to the increase of on-line sources of cultural and historical knowledge, which play the same role in education as museums used to have in the past. I completely disagree with the given statement and consider that museums are an essential part of the modern society. Firstly, if a person looks at the computer screen instead of attending an exhibition, he will not be able to grasp the atmosphere of an art gallery. There are numerous websites related to medieval paintings and ancient sculptures, nevertheless people still prefer seeing them live, and that is why such places as the Hermitage and the Louvre will always gain tourists’ attention. Moreover, data and photos of pieces of arts posted on sites are collected from national galleries and not vice versa. It means that they are primary to the on-line sources and if scientists want to study a certain painting, they will visit a museum where it is stored. For instance, a full knowledge about aspects of the body of an Egyptian pharaoh should be definitely obtained by observing it rather than from reading websites. On the other hand, opponents of the existence and preservation of museums argue that by searching the information in such sources as the Wikipedia, users can save their money by for not having to pay paying for the entrance tickets and are even able to find necessary data much more quickly. However, the experience of going to an exhibition is incomparable to just searching on the Internet. (surfing the Internet to find neccessary information, relying on the Internet as a source of useful information) To sum it up, the importance (significance) of museums cannot be overestimated due to its their vital meaning to tourism and science.