Describe an old object which your family keep for a long time. What the object is Where it came from How long it has been in your family Explain why you family want to keep it

Ancestral belongings hold a special place in people’s heart. Here, I would like to tell about an old device in my parents' house. It is a treadle sewing machine which is total different from current electrical ones in the market. My father bought it as a gift to my mother in the early 1980s in Shenzhen. At the moment, it was an expensive and precious gift to my mother. Eventually right now it is still in a good shape, sitting in my parents' house in our hometown which is about about 400 kms far aways from Shenzhen. It has been kept here for the last 30 years. It becomes one of oldest belongs in my mother's house. It was maintained very well by my mother. The device is always covered with a piece of clothe all year round. Nobody will touch it, except my mom. Every year, when my mother travelled back to our hometown for Spring Festival, she always spent half day in dusting it and adding lubricant to it. It still functions properly. My mother has been keeping and maintaining it for the past 30 years. The major reason for this is that it is a gift from dad who passed away 15 years ago. To my mom, the sewing machine is one of tangible gifts from my father and has priceless value. It reminds us the precious memory of my father. The second reason is that my mom used this sewing machine to sew all the clothes for her children in the early days as a newcomer in Shenzhen in early 1980s. It is a symbol of pride for my mother who had been struggling for the first 10 years in Shenzhen. She has become a millionaire from a newcomer with only 50 yuan in her pocket at the moment in early 1980s. I believe that this treadle sewing machine will be passed on from generation to generation in my brother's family. If one day they dump the this sewing machine, I will definitely flight back to China and keep it and even shift to Canada here.