Due to rise in university fees arts subjects like history and philosophy should not be taught anymore. Only degree courses should be taught for better employment oppertunities.

The rising population have resulted in a major unemployment problem. In the recent days we experience a hike in expence for higher education and competition, so it is believed if universities imparted only vocational training that would increase the chance of employement. This essay will argue, why banning arts subjects to meet employment criteria is’nt the best option. Subjects such as philosophy and history are one of the stepping stone to understand our traditions, culture and mindset. Philosophy helps us to increase our critical thinking and understand any situation in depth. Our food habbits, colloquial languages, rituals are related ages back to our ancestors; without having knowledge of arts its impossible to know our roots. For instance famous historians have put effort and decoded the manuscripts back from the Indus Valley Civilisation, which have proved to beneficial in planning the layout of many new cities. Acquiring higher education should be completely based on area of interest and merit. Not all students find science and business easy to cope with, whereas others find their call in gaining expertise in arts subjects. If, at all there should be a dire need to provide degree course to minimize unemployment, still subjects such as history, philosoply should be qincluded in basic training. This will not only help pupils gain knowledge that would boost their career but also prepare them to analyse stress situation better. To conclude all subjects have their individdual importance and excluding a few from the curriculum would disrupt the system of balanced education.