Children from wealthy countries are doing unpaid work in poor countries? Why? Who get more benefit community or them?

Undoubtedly, volunteer tourism has gained enormous publicity in the last decade, especially amongst the rich youngsters of developed nations as they travel to developing and underdeveloped countries to, help their natives in getting an education or building infrastructure. There are many reasons, which have led to this tendency, and in my opinion, both the youth and the communities they are serving, benefit from it equally. The primary factor which has accelerated the popularity of voluntary activities in the underprivileged provinces is the spread of awareness by the digital and other forms of media which connect us to global events. For instance, the news of natural calamity or other emergencies creates the urge among youth to help the needy and lend a helping hand to the local authorities. Also, in most developed countries, sensitizing students towards the importance of sharing and helping others is a part of the curriculum as it helps them to become better citizens. Therefore, their belief in ‘sharing is caring' provokes them to help the needy nations. This phenomenon has benefits for both the youth volunteers and the people they are serving. For the youth, volunteering adds to their work experience and allows them to do hands-on of their course learnings, which leads to better job opportunities. Moreover, it broadens the horizons of youngsters as they travel to different parts of the world and learn about various cultures and customs of those regions. For communities, they are uniformly benefited, as their standard of living improves, with the help of the infrastructure build by the volunteers and the education provided by them also help natives to gain knowledge and build bright futures since it ameliorates their chances of getting a better job, which in turn, upgrades their quality of life. To conclude, doing unpaid work by the youth is a positive trend and it is beneficial for both youth and the country they work with because, “When we give cheerfully and accept gratefully, everyone is blessed. ”