Some people think they have right to use as much freshwater as they want, Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource.

There are people who believe that utilizing freshwater is their right. Whereas, other individuals are of the opinion that authorities should ration water consumption. On the one hand, freshwater is considered as a gift from heavens and should never be rationed and on the other hand, it is believed that water bodies are precious and a depleting resource which might lead to political upheaval if not administered properly. Many people are of the opinion that natural drinking water is a gift from heavens and the consumption must never be regulated. Since ages this natural resource has never been managed. There are plenty of water bodies which get replenished by seasonal rains and it is the nature of human to deal with scarcity or abundance of water for example by building of dams to store water when in plenty and adapting to farming methods where minimum irrigation is required during droughts. Therefore, it is believed that water should never be controlled. Those individuals who believe that governments should regularize drinkable water cite that it is a precious natural resource and therefore, should be controlled in sustainable way in order not to deprive large population living in various parts of the world from basic use like for drinking purpose. Furthermore, they are concerned that frequent water scarcity because of irrational usage will lead to avoidable political upheavals resulting significantly in bitter relations with neighboring nations, for example the political crisis between Egypt and Ethiopia due to Nile dam construction. To conclude, there are individuals who think use of consumable water is a right because it naturally occurs in the form of rains and they believe it will always be available. Whereas, many others are of the view that water is an important resource and should be controlled in order not to alienate large populations from its use which can create political crisis.