Immigration has a major impact on the society. What are the main reasons for immigration? What consequences can it lead to?

Immigration is a rising trend among millions of people globally and its effect on society is many. While some are beneficial to society, there are negative impacts as well. In this essay, I will elucidate the reasons and repercussions of immigration on society. Migration, primarily, is a result of people’s search for better living conditions. Individuals who often find it hard to cope with circumstances in their current country resort to moving out to another where the laws are different with comfortable living conditions. It can be money, the standard of living, societal pressures, etc. Another reason why people migrate is to be a part of a new culture. Exploring new beliefs and traditions excites people who belong to a particular category. It aids to fulfill their desire to learn more and develop themselves as individuals. Although this phenomenon helps society to have a diverse culture, some drawbacks come along with it. Firstly, discrimination is a huge concern that affects a large number of immigrants across the globe. Locals disregard equal treatment to immigrants and, they are often biased and isolated from any interaction. Secondly, immigrants tend to fall into a culture shock and find it difficult to adjust to society and its expectations. Cultural differences can affect individuals on a phycological level and, this further leads to self-isolation. Despite its negative consequences, the positive effects immigration can bring to society are plenty. It promotes cultural diversity and encourages people of all nationalities to interact and learn from each other. It provides a platform for people to explore cultures and the living conditions of different nations. People migrating from third world countries to a developed one will experience and learn better standards of living. A country can also benefit by inviting new talents to the professions that are in high demand. The least populated nations yield their benefits. To encapsulate, migration as a phenomenon can have myriad outcomes. The desire to live a peaceful and secure life is what causes people to leave the place where they were born and move to an unknown land. However, it is important that people make careful decisions about the country they choose to live in. This would make the transition process less painful for all.