Some people think the secondary school should study non-academic subjects such as Civic or Religious Studies. Others argue that this a waste of time and those children should only study academic subjects like mathematics and science.

It is often argued that tests measure a student's academic performance way more accurate than class projects and assignments do. Personally, I agree with this statement as I believe that exams do a better job in assessing course performance than projects. Firstly, exams are done under pressure which makes it a valuable performance measurement metric. In other words, students are closely monitored and are asked to answer questions within a specific time. This means that students should prepare for the exam beforehand and should be to ready to tackle any type of questions from specified topics. For example, personally, I would put more hard work and effort for a course that has examinations as a criteria to pass the course than I would do for a course that has class projects as a criteria to pass. This is why, I believe that all institutions should make it mandatory for learners to go through tests instead of projects as a way to measure their academic performance. Secondly, in my opinion, while projects and assignments are necessary for learners, I do not think that they are a valuable metric to measure course performance. To be more specific, assignments and projects require work to be done out of class sessions such as researching online. In addition, most students tend to get help from seniors who had already taken the course or get involved in other kinds of plagiarism activities. One of my friends for example, passed his class by having his final senior project done by one of his uncles. At the end of the course, my friend jokingly said that he had managed to pass the course knowing nothing about the content of the course. This is why I think that examinations should be included in a course syllabus as projects alone will not be a valuable tool to measure students' performance. In conclusion, I firmly believe that tests should be a part of a subject syllabus. Firstly, exams are timed and should be done under pressure not knowing anything about the questions, which I think serves as a better tool for assessing course performance. And secondly, unlike exams, projects are done outside of the classroom and this can lead to plagiarism.