some people think the olymic games will no longer play an important role in the 21st century.

Many people argue that the Olympic Games will not have any significant importance in the current century. In my personal view, I completely disagree with this statement and in this essay, I will discuss my reasons. First and for most, the main influence of holding the Olympic Games is in bringing different cultures together. People from various backgrounds gather together in a place to compete in athletic competitions and in the meantime, to form friendships that may last forever. This bond is stronger than any political issues between their respective countries' leaders. For example despite the war between Arabs and Israel that has been going for many years, their athletes compete together in a fair and peaceful manner. In addition to the cultural effects, the Olympic Games have also many financial benefits for the host country. These benefits are the result of attracting the attention of people from all over the world, and therefore making that country a hot tourist spot for the next couple of years. Also, it helps many small local businesses to be recognized by visitors and to grow in size and be profitable. Take Brazil for example; the Rio Olympic Games helped to save them from bankruptcy. Other positive influence of the Olympic Games is that it unites the nations together to achieve a common goal. Finally, the entertainment aspects of the Olympic Games is also significant. According to the statistics, provided by the BBC news, the number of people watching the London Olympic Games was record breaking and at the same time, the crime rates decreased dramatically. To sum up, I strongly believe that the Olympic Games are still the most prestigious athletic event all around the world, which possess many cultural and economical effects in the current era.