Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A debate rages on whether nurses should exhibit knowledge about the medical field or they should have other essential qualities. Having information related to the nursing field enables them to save the lives of various patients. However, other crucial skills like sympathy and kindness provide comfortability to patients to retain a healthy mindset to combat a disease. This essay will discuss both views along with my perspective. On the one hand, many people believe the notion that nurses should know their field. This will not only enable them to deal with problems of health of individuals but also make them compatible to play their role as an effective health worker in society. However, if a nurse does not exhibit knowledge about nursing science, she may not be able to practice this profession with greater efficiency. For example, the John Hopkins Medical College in the United States gave a task to fully trained nurses and some individuals to take care of a patient. Consequently, fully trained nurses performed in a better way to look after a bedridden because they have relevant qualifications in this field. However, People without these qualifications were unable to take care of patients. On the other hand, a chunk of society supports that nurses should also exhibit other characteristics such as sympathy and kindness, which can help patients to retain a healthy mindset during the period of a particular disease. These abilities of health workers assist the bedridden to recover with ease without any mental abruption. For instance, the study of the Harvard Medical School shows that the health workers who have social skills like sympathy and kindness provide a comfortable environment for the patient's recovery without hampering the mentality during suffering from a particular ailment. In conclusion, nurses should know about the nursing career to save the lives of mankind. However, they should also have certain feelings like sympathy and kindness to ease the recovery of the bedridden. In my point of view, knowing the nursing field as a nurse will help them to practice their career with an effective approach.