Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by a certain section of society that health workers should possess knowledge of medicine. However, others hold a view that, traits such as empathy, patience and act of kindness is worth considering. On the one hand, having medical knowledge is vital for a nurse to look after the patients in the absence of professional doctor. In other words, caretakers assist doctors while doing surgery and if they do not have enough knowledge about the patient records, medical equipment, and drug dosage, they would face serious consequences. For example, when my uncle undergone knee replacement surgery, the nurses over their examined his health post surgery and looked after him until he recovered. Therefore, it can be considered that only by gaining knowledge is vital for a nurse. On the other hand, numerous qualities are required for a nurse apart from medical knowledge. Firstly, they should have empathy and kindness towards their patient which aid their patients to recover from the illness. Certain patients would be reluctant to take medicine and do not cooperate, in order to deal with them, they should be kind. For example, a nurse will come to check up my grandfather every week even though he does not cooperate with her and show reluctance to take medicine. Secondly, they should have patience to deal with their patients. As most of them will be frustrated because of their condition, without patience they cannot treat them. In conclusion, it appears to me that along with having a good knowledge of medicine, patience, love, and affection is very crucial. If nurses maintain these qualities, they would definitely become a good caretaker.