Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Medical expertise is the skill which the majority of nurses must possess. While some people argue that this is a significant factor for being a nurse, others believe there are additional predominant factors that nurses have to take into consideration. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. To commence with, nurses tend to have an ability to understand the medical terminologies. Accomplishing the knowledge in medicines makes them capable enough to provide superior quality of services to their patients. Furthermore it also assists nurses to treat infected people by providing appropriate medicines to them which are recommended by the doctors. For instance, in hospitals majorly nurses are responsible for performing all the medical tests on every individual under the observation of doctors. So the basic learning of medical methodologies are required for these positions. On the other hand, there are several different skills that are also essential for the one who wants to become the nurse. Communications techniques play a vital role in nurses, they have to interact with sick people on daily basis, listen to their queries and provide resolution. In addition to this they must possess calm nature, so that they will be able to perform their duties under pressure without making any mistakes. To illustrate, in private hospitals due to gentle behaviour and effective interaction of nurses towards sick people, the recovery rate of their patients has been increased drastically. In conclusion, though there is an ongoing discussion that acquiring a knowledge of medical skill is essential for nurses to medicate the ill person, However I believe that there are other skills which have high weightage that should be available in nurses.