Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The contemporary age is no stranger to the concept of skilled nurses. While some people believe that the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge, whereas, others believe that there are more important qualities. This essay shall discuss both the views and provide my personal view. Firstly, the most essential skill nurses should have is proper medical knowledge because this is the only way they can save lives. As an illustration, the nurses having a good grasp of the medical knowledge are able to provide better care for their patients. Furthermore, a research project at the University of Adelaide found that three out of five nurses performed better as they were capable of handling patient cases with their medical knowledge. Secondly, others believe there are more important qualities such as clear communication and compassionate care nurses should have. Patients often receive better care if their nurses treat them with empathy and listen to their needs. To clarify, latest research shows that recovery rate increase if there is clear communication between a patient and a nurse. To shed some more light on the issue, one of my relative had a similar experience when she had an accident and she was admitted to the hospital. she received person centered care and her nurses provided excellent treatment by knowing her needs. Considering all the above points, I am of the opinion that both sides of the argument have valid reasons. Good medical knowledge is an essential part of the nursing profession; however, other important qualities cannot be overlooked. In my opinion patients can receive better care if their nurses have good medical knowledge along with other good qualities.