Some people think the media should reduce the amount of bad news that they publish because it might discourage people from joining normal activities that involve very little risk.

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that the press should put a limit on the amount of negative news that they deliver to the public owing to the fact that audiences are demotivated from participating in risk-free activities. From my point of view, I totally concur with this statement. Frequent exposure to negative news on a daily basis would be deleterious to readers. First, when people read bad news too often, they might lose faith in others. In particular, when the media delivers bad scandals about celebrities, they will be under public attack and doubted by many people, especially their fans, who have been supporting them for a long time. It results in that negative news cast a doubt on other people and their relationships would be negatively affected. Second, bad news can promote a sense of insecurity. Particularly, some pieces of information can be distorted and turn misleading. Hence, it makes readers feel confused or over-worried about their regular activities. For instance, a piece of misleading information about the harmful effects of eating tomatoes and eggs together. From the abovementioned practical concerns, the media should obviously restrict bad news. The first reason is promoting economic growth. It makes people less worried about possible dangers around them. Therefore, it also tends to engage in more social activities. Moreover, the consumption demand increases, which will give a boost to production activities and the whole country’s economy. The next reason is reducing the levels of stress when joining daily activities. In addition, people don’t aware of the dangers in their surroundings. Thus, they feel more active and optimistic. As a result, it helps lower the chances of getting stressed or even depressed when they try to immerse themselves in their normal activities, which helps them fully experience their life. Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that negative information is harmful to the audiences. Therefore, bad news should be restricted.