Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

There are various ways adopted by parents to discipline their children. Smacking has been considered popular among certain parents. Some find physical punishment as an effective way to instill discipline in their children. This essay will argue that smacking is completely unnecessary for raising children. Some parents believe that physical punishment helps in molding their children’s positive behaviour. They think that fear of smacking will help children to make right choices and be responsible with their actions. Moreover, children now a days are very stubborn, and parents find it difficult to manage without resorting to punishments. For instance, parents find themselves as by-product of this practice and consider themselves as an example to continue the same behaviour with their children. They have seen the practice yielding positive results for them. These are some reasons why parents believe smacking is the best way to discipline their children. Despite the marginally positive results from the physical punishment, it is unacceptable for the parents to smack their children. Physical punishment makes the children more violent and results in rebellious acts. Also, they go through mental trauma and lose confidence in themselves. There have been studies which bolsters that the children exposed to physical force suffer from phycological problems and have long lasting impact on their behaviour. Overall, the use of physical force is unnecessary and can cripple the mental health and confidence of children. In conclusion, this essay argued that parents who use physical punishment have limited understanding of long-term impacts and underestimate the negative outcomes on the overall personalities of their children. In my opinion, smacking children is completely unacceptable even though some parents find it as an effective way to discipline children.