Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Presence of zoos has frequently sparked controversy among general public, debating upon a single topic that whether zoos are too cruel for animals or they are a medium for their protection. Difference between people has made them to view their own opinions from different angles creating these two sides. One side of the population argues that the zoos are too cruel for animals to exist. The core reason for this statement is, animals are free-spirited beings which relies and remains content in their natural habitat unlike those artificially created settlement that zoos prepare for the animals which is not their natural habitat because they are given very little space to move around. This results to hindrance to their growth and diminishing natural instinct. For instance, investigation records that, a tiger that has been brought up inside zoos cage for its whole life are relatively weaker and cannot adapt properly in an unknown territory in wild to survive in the wild inevitably, leading to its demise. Whereas, remaining people participating in this heated discussion states that zoo is acting as a protection area for wild animals. The underlying cause arousing this saying is the tightly guarded zoos. This is because, zoos are very precious and the animals contained inside even more because of which, many security measures are kept in place to ensure their security especially; endangered wild animals. To illustrate, Red Panda which was listed in endangered animals list back in 2017 A. D. , is soon to be erased from the list as government has been able to successfully breed them rapidly increasing its number up to astonishing 50, 000 with the help of zoo. To conclude, none of the sides outbalance each other in any aspects however, in my opinion, even for providing protection, more friendly ways must be executed then only, zoos can be more of a savior than prison for animals.