More and more people are leaving the countryside to live in cities. Does this development has more advantages or disadvantages for the environment?

Leaving the villages and migrating to city area is becoming increasingly popular these days. While there are few advantages of this, I often argue it's detrimental effects far outweigh it's pros. Firstly, the most significant advantage that city life provides to people is higher employment possibilities. Humankind move to cities with the aim of finding better job opportunities which suits his/her capability. Moreover another benefit is that cities provide all facilities namely quality education, transportation and healthcare facility. Due to this fact a number of people are leaving their villages or hometown. For example, my brother recently moved to Kathmandu leaving us alone at village for his higher education. If this facility was there in my hometown, my brother would never come here in Kathmandu. Secondly, the foremost cons of life in cities is that cities has its own drawbacks. Poverty, homelessness is a major problem in city and also the gap between rich and poor prevails in city area. Problems like pollution, traffic congestion, traffic jams and crime is very common here due to the fact it affects our health and waste our valuable time. Furthermore people even don't know their neighbours it means it is very rare to feel a sense of community in city life. For instance, it is often found that people call city as a 'Concrete Jungle'. To conclude, urban areas provides incremental benefits, however it's detrimental effects on people mental and physical health is more significant.