Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

I think keeping animals in zoos is a double-edged sword but the negative aspects outweigh the positive ones. It’s important to preserve lots of animals that are in danger of extinction either by human actions or mother nature, in secure places like zoos. In zoos, these animals are in a safe environment managed by trained staff who can ensure they have looked after. It’s good to mention that by protecting animals in zoos, we can study their behaviors for research purposes to know them better and improve their life quality. However, there are more convincing arguments for why animals shouldn’t capture from their natural habitats and cage in zoos. Lots of animals are there just for the entertainment of visitors not because of being in danger of extinction and often, their distress can be seen in the way many of them pace back and forwards all day. Also, visitor’s behavior and poor treatment from staff could have a huge impact on their life quality. In conclusion, in danger animals must be protected in alternative places like enormous safari parks where they have more freedom and not using them for wrong purposes.