Some people think that plastic bags should be banned beacuse they contribute to land and sea pollution. elnp

Plastc bags are polythenes that were invented decades back to slow down the use of paper bags and reduce deforestation. Although some feel that plastic bags should be continued using, I, however, believe that usage of plastic bags should be banned since they are adding up to pollution including landfills and sea. Firstly, recycling of plastic bags is a cost effective process. While I concede that they have their own importance in transporting goods, the problem is that plastic bags are less biodegradable and requires a lot of time and money. Hence, they are thrown deliberately which accumulates on land forming landfills and across sea and oceans. Therefore, disposing plastic bags openly is resulting in land and water pollution. Health hazards are another factor of concern. Food is the common item that is sold in plastic pouches and it is generally served hot. This high temperature of food temds to react with molecules in plastic and releases toxins into the food. To illustrate this, researchers have found that plastic bags at high temperature such as that of food dissolves and releases carcinogens in it causing certain type of cancers. In addition, another study found that eating food packed in plastic pouches can cause digestive problems, affecting overall health of individuals. In short, not only does the plastic bags increases land and sea pollution, but also they appear to cause several harmful effects on one's health. Therefore, although I acknowledge that plastic bags are essential in carrying goods, I strongly agree to the idea of ban on use of plastic bags.