Some people think that young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should be encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc. to serve society.

The issue of whether or not to enter universiy after leaving high school has been provoking a considerable controversy (among the public). While it can be claimed that it is preferable for the youth to choose university to foster their education, I am of the opinion that it is advisable for them to develop manual skills to contribute to society. In this essay, I am going to examine both views and support opinion. On the one hand, for decades universities have always been teenagers’ preference after secondary education. Opportunities for high academic level may be one of the main reasons for believing this. As a matter of fact, for an individual to be able to occupy top jobs such as lawyer or doctor, a college degree is a minimum requirement. Parents’ expectation for bright future for their children’s can be another point to consider. With the belief that only higher education can provide a person with a firm standing in society, most parents encourage or even force their kids to join colleges. Therefore, for people who want to pursue a brilliant career, further education is not only a better choice, but also is essential. On the other hand, I strongly agree that young adults can be better off without a college degree. Firstly, many jobs require more practical knowledge that is not really something university can provide efficiently. People who start working rather than going to university would become more experienced, which is one of the essential elements to have/work in a successful profession. It is a fact that numerous successful businessmen have no academic degrees. Secondly, tuition fees are one of the big problems for most students and their family. Supporting a four-year period at university could become a financial burden for a lot of individuals and households, whereas/ in contrast starting work as soon as finishing high schools would help them earn their living early and avoid spending a tremendous amount of money, exclusive of/ apart from possible college debt. Moreover, working early gives budding entrepreneurs a better opportunity to establish themselves before competition gets tougher. In conclusion, while a university degree is a must for certain occupations, there are sectors that value work experience more. I definitely believe that getting experience and developing practical skills are more important to apply for a job in order to be sure of success.