Some people think that you can never become fluently in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country

It is well acknowledged that people were unable to master a new language if they did not live or work in a particular country. While I think that living in a foreign country provide us better opportunities to acquire a second language, though it is possible to learn it in your place. There are reasons why it is better to learn language in a specific country. Firstly, it is difficult for people to become fluently in a new language if they scarcely use it in their daily life. Many people who are living in English-speaking country nowadays, in fact, can use English naturally and smoothly because they get used with the way the locals communicate and that they can learn many new words, idioms or slangs that hardly can be find in any schools’ lessons. For instance, many people claimed that they are able to hold conversations in English after five years accomodating in England depite the fact that they were totally beginners at first. On the other hand, there are factors why people can now acquire a new language without having to live in a foreign country. Firstly, in order to catch up with the globalisation, many schools around the world are now offering second language curriculums. This means, schools, especially those which hire native teachers and have exchange students from other continents, may urge the students to communicate and have a high level of proficiency in a new language. For instance, The American International school in Vietnam provides at least five periods of English class a day proved that their students can speak and write in English as good as native users. Secondly, with the appearance of Internet, many people are able to learn from a huge source of information online and also make friends with foreigners so as to enhance their language skill. To conclude, although living in a specific country let people become fluently in a new language, I believe that others factors can contribute to the progress of studying it.