Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos

Owing to the surge in industrialisation, the demand for fossil fuels has also increased. For this reason, utilisation of renewable sources is encouraged. In my opinion, this is a positive development as non-conventional resources are not only reusable but can also mitigate environmental pollution. To begin with, the first reason to support my view is that the energy provided by the sun, wind, and ocean can be used again and again. This is because these sources are eternal and everlasting and there is no issue of their depletion; therefore they can serve mankind as long as we are here. To exemplify, a USA study found that renewable energy can easily provide up to 80 percent of US electricity requirements. In contrast, coal, petroleum and oil are non-renewable as they take thousands of years to form; thus, the over-consumption of these resources can possibly lead to their extinction in the coming years. Second, my viewpoint is further bolstered by the fact that these resources do not pollute the environment. The reason for this is that the production of solar, ocean, and wind power, do not emit any harmful gases such as carbon dioxide and methane which can cause environmental pollution. For instance, according to research by the department of International Renewable Energy Resources in the USA, the usage of solar power can reduce the annual carbon emissions by 25 percent. By contrast, when fossil fuels are used, a large amount of carbon is emitted into the air, which pollutes the environment to a large extent. In conclusion, although the setting up of solar panels, and windmills requires huge initial capital, in my perspective, once installed, these plants tend to provide a number of benefits such as clean environment and green energy. Hence, more emphasis should be on harnessing renewable sources than fossil fuels.