Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to local practices and customs.

There has been much deliberation among social scientists around the globe on the question of people’s adaptability to new cultures, and whether one should adopt the indigenous customs and practices when they migrate to a foreign land or not. While I partially disagree with the latter view, arguments from both sides of this debate will be stated in this essay. There are two major reasons because of which I do not believe that it is essential for someone to adapt to new practices and customs once they emigrate from their native land. Firstly, one’s culture is an intrinsic part of their identity which connects them to their roots. It is something which shall be invariably preserved notwithstanding whether one still resides in their homeland or not. However, every individual has the right to make individual choices and hence determine which aspects of their own culture they want to retain and which elements of foreign customs and practices they want to adopt. For example, several people of Indian origin migrate to Western nations almost regularly, among whom a large number of migrants and their children often adopt various aspects of Western culture, right from new cuisines to different religious beliefs. Nonetheless, a major portion of them decide to stick to their native cultural beliefs and practices. Therefore, nobody should be compelled to change them. Secondly, it shall also be noted that it is often very difficult for people, especially the elderly, to change their beliefs and practices. They generally want to retain and preserve the culture which they have followed throughout their lives. This aspect of the issue is easily visible when it comes to the question of dietary choices. Many people prefer to stick to their native dietary practices, either because it suits their palate or for religious beliefs. For example, Muslims do not eat pork and Hindus avoid beef when they migrate to foreign countries, and I believe there is no reason to change one’s consumption pattern without their consent. There are also arguments which state that one shall adopt local customs and practices. For this, often the reason of respecting local sensibility is raised. For example, the consumption of beef is generally disliked in India because of which migrants often avoid it in order to maintain harmony with the local community. Despite of that, I believe people should not be compelled to change their practices, and rather should be allowed to maintain them in a manner which does not offend the indigenous inhabitants. Moreover, people often want to mingle with the local people to build new social circles, for which they adapt to the native culture. However, that depends upon one’s choice and not any kind of compulsion. Through this discussion one can conclude that, while there is no harm in adapting to foreign customs and practices once someone settles in those regions, the entire process is dependent on someone’s independent choice and not any form of imposition. Furthermore, while there are both upsides and downsides to the adoption of other cultures, I believe the arguments supporting sticking to one’s own beliefs and practices have more weight.