Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

The controversial topic with respect to advertisements never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on whether advertising brings more benefits or drawbacks to people. I tend to agree that ads can influence people in positive ways, while some people claim that advertisements encourage impulsive purchasing behaviours. Firstly, advertisements can help us improve our living standards because ads provides a platform for people to find out new information about products and services that can help people to work more efficiently and to live more comfortably. Take my own experience as an example. I used to struggle with cleaning my own apartment because of my busy work schedules. So, my apartment was always messy. After I saw an advertisement that sells professional cleaning services, I subscribed to their weekly cleaning service. As a result, my apartment is always spotless nowadays due to the excellent services that the cleaning company delivers on a weekly basis. But, if it was not for the advertisement, I would not have benefited from it. Therefore, my experience proves that advertisments can have positive impacts on people's life. On the other hand, some people believe that many commercial ads can lead to impulsive shopping behaviours. They states that these ads deliver technically correct messages to audiences, but the tone of the ads is often misleading, which can potentially mislead the consumers to think that after buying the product or the service that the ad is trying to sell, they can have the dream life that they always want. But in reality, it is not often the case and these shoppers often feel regret after they purchase something that they do not actually need. However, they fail to realise that with governments' regulations on advertisements and some proper guidances on how the ads can be presented to the public and what contents can or cannot be included in the ads, this problem can be solved. In conclusion, after analysing the advantages and disadvantages that advertisements bring to people, it is obvious that there are more benefits than drawbacks that advertisments can bring to people's life.