Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings.

Urban development and projects of revitalization for old areas have always been a concern for the architectural history and identity of some cities. Some people believe that old constructions should be fully replaced for contemporary buildings, while others think that cities' historical houses and buildings must be protected. In my opinion, only historical important and preserved constructions should be protected as modern constructions are much safer for people. Modernists believe that old constructions should be completely converted into new and modern buildings. In history, there are many examples of cities that fully modernized their old town in order to change the visual aspects as well as offering more safety for residents and workers. If old buildings and houses do not present conditions to keep being someone's residence or a company's headquarter due to safety concerns, it is better to completely demolish the old construction and construct a new one. However, if older constructions of a city demonstrate reliability to still support business and housing, it is appropriate to keep them as there is a cultural and architectural value between these constructions and the city's residents. Berlin is a good example of harmony between old and valuable historical construction which contrasts with new modern high-rise buildings. Preservation of old constructions connects cities with their residents as well as create a unique identity. Once a city is well-known and attracts tourists because of its architecture and history, it would be quite unreasonable to vanish old constructions only to make modern buildings. As an example, Paris is a city that has a large number of old constructions and it is a reference for beauty and fine design because of its impressive old architectural feats. If the old towns are still well-maintained and represent a symbol of resistance and pride for people, It should be kept as it is. To conclude, only old constructions that are not offering safety for people or adequate installations for companies should be replaced by new and contemporary buildings. Old houses and building if well-maintained creates a positive connection with cities and their population.