Some people think that watching sports in one’s free time is just a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the debate whether watching sports games on television is a time-waster activity lies at the heart of social dispute. As far as I am concerned, people spending their spare time watching sports have the opportunity to enhance bonding within their communities and promote a healthier lifestyle among individuals. Watching sport on television is, first and foremost, a potential for people to come together and cheer for their team. Fans watching the game together may have different status in life and they may endorse various religious beliefs or political ideologies. Yet still, when they watch the game, they have only one concern in the world which is to see their team emerge victorious. Needless to say, sporting events bring people closer amid their differences. When their team wins a victory over their rivals, it is a happy moment for all of them. Moreover, sports even foster patriotic feelings in people. Another merit of watching sports lies in inspiring ordinary people to engage in sports activities. When people watch their favourite athlete in action, they feel encouraged to stay fit and live a healthier life. For instance, teenagers adore sporting heroes and want to emulate their lifestyle. Moreover, people who watch sports matches regularly tend to live physically active lives. For example, a recent study showed that there was a 30% increase in gym memberships during the recently held World Cup Football championship. By contrast, watching other television shows or engaging in other activities during free time does not produce this effect, owing to the fact that the content is less inspiring and it does not motivate people to change their lifestyle. Thus, it is evident that watching sports in free time motivates people to engage in physical activity and live healthier lives. To conclude, watching sports is not a waste of time. It promotes stronger bonding within communities and leaves a beneficial impact on people by encouraging them to pursue a healthy way of life.