Some people think that “vertical cities”, where people live and work in tall building are better than “horizontal” cities. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both kinds of city and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether living and working in vertical cities or horizontal cities are more preferable. This essay will discuss merits and demerits of both types and think that a mixture of two types is an excellent choice. On the one hand, vertical cities gain considerable advantages and disadvantages. With regard to the former, the urban cities in which land is scarce, as well as have geographical figures are the first being advantages. On that condition, tall buildings are ideal places to live and work for a substantial number of people in a small area, even dwellers in that can do shopping within their building or buildings located close to each other. These cities, although, have a highly dynamic lifestyle, homes and workplaces are small and crowded nature can lead to noise pollution. Turning into horizontal cities, they also have benefits and drawbacks. As far as the upsides are concerned, homes or workplaces have remarkably wide zones, the level of noise does not impact on people who live nearby. Occupying open and green spaces, housings allow people to walk, relax and even do sports in the outdoors. Looking at the opposite angle, horizontal cities not only take up more valuable land but also take more time to commute between homes and workplaces. If only the public bodies formulate an effective strategy for transport infrastructure, the distances between these places will improve. In conclusion, vertical and horizontal cities have their own benefits, therefore residents should match their needs to the context.