Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. what, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

It is undeniable that the main function of universities is to provide students with full access to knowledge. But it is also true that universities should teach former students essential skills and knowledge which are useful for them in the workplace. From my perspective, universities should keep developing their main function by creating more interesting lessons while providing additional courses that help graduates be prepared for their career path in the future. First of all, the most significant responsibility of every university is to impart knowledge through courses. The given information may not be applied in undergraduates’ future workplace but help themselves have a general understanding about specific areas. Therefore, in order to give away knowledge in the most effective way, universities and colleges should improve their teaching methods and build up more interesting lectures or lessons which results in a greater access to learning. It means universities are also responsible for encouraging students to feel excited about their study and take as many as advantages of the accessibility to education because it is worthy for their life. On the other hand, people who disagree with the mentioned statement, think that universities’ duty is to assist students with preparing necessary skills and knowledge in their career path. It is an innovative requirement that most universities adapt recently and develop their courses to be more valuable for all graduates. Particularly, there are a number of new subjects called Work Integrated Learning or Work Placement which offer undergraduates an opportunity to apply their knowledge gained from schools into the real situations and projects throughout a 6-month internship. Moreover, universities support their students to find a suitable organisation to experience a new learning method which is more effective than just a theoretical lecture. To sum up, universities should not only offer access to knowledge but also create more opportunities for students to develop essential skills which are usually asked by employers in the recruitment process.