Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society.To what extent do you agree?

Technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds and social networking sites are that innovation of technology that makes this huge world of our look small. However, a fair of amount of people believe, such sites have devastating effect on everyone's life. I do not completely accord with it because everything has its pros and cons and social sites are no exception. To initiate with, there are several reasons how social sites can affect our lives adversely? First of all, the complusion to use social media makes one social media addict. Researchers at chicago university concluded that addiction to social sites such as facebook is stronger than addiction to smoking or alcohol. Secondly, use of social sites may expose individuals, in particular teens and children to pornography. Besides unleashing age - inappropriate content, digital age also gave birth to cyberbullying which leads to depression - like symptoms, anxiety and high level of stress. Apart from this, risk of fraud or identity theft, invasion of privacy and time waster are also the drawbacks of these sites which cannot be ignored. However, undoubtedly, these sites has been a boon for those people who use it wisely. Social networking sites provide people an opportunity to expand their network, enhance careers, make friends, recruit employees and find people with scarce skills. Moreover, sites such as facebook and Google + are very much user friendly and are free which make them accessible to everyone. To conclude, we may be a lot safer if we use technology prudently. Perhaps now is the time to make healthy choices. Social sites can be used for good just as easily as these are used to harm others.