People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

Nowadays, people tend to drink sugar-based beverages such as soft drinks more frequently due to several reasons. This habit needs to be strictly controlled since it negatively affects people’s health status. This essay will discuss further about the problem and suggest possible solutions. One of the major reasons is that a beverage has a function to recover energy quickly which satisfies the need of blue collar workers. Particularly, these target customers are required to have physical strength, fitness and durability for their job. However, due to a heavy workload, they are unable to recover their energy in a healthy way. Consequently, they usually choose to have soft drinks in order to regain their energy in a little amount of time. It can also be seen on the sugar-based drinks advertisements often present how fast this type of beverage boosts people’s energy. Another significant cause of this problem is the tasteful favor of this drink. The innovation built by companies not only targets adults but also young age customers who usually get attracted by a tasty production. Those companies successfully generate profits but fail to protect their customers’ health. In order to reduce the number of sugar-based beverages consumption due to their negative influence, companies should provide a warning message to their customers about its harmness if they consume too much. For example, the caution may be printed on the bottle and a suggestion of the ideal amount of liquid consumed per day. On the other hand, they should spread the message on social media networks to remind the general public just to have a reasonable drink per day, otherwise their health would get worse. Another possible solution to this problem would be an increase in price which discourages consumers to buy in a large amount. To sum up, the chief reasons cause a rise of sugar-based drinking are its quick energy-boost function and tasteful favors. It is recommended to provide a warning message about its harmness as well as to increase the price in attempts to decrease the amount of unhealthy drink that consumers intake daily.