Some people think that universities should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of whether the course useful to an employer. What, in your opinion should be the main function of a university.

It is thought by some that students should get only the technical education related to their future profession at the universities, while others opine that the prime role of higher education is to enhance the knowledge of a person irrespective of future utility in the professional life. In my opinion, I consider that the university education should be focused enough to refine professional knowledge and to relieve the students of the extra burden of unnecessary subjects. To begin with, one positive reason to get the professional knowledge at the universities is to keep the students focused on acquiring the technical education. As students will have to study fewer subjects which are related to their eventual profession, it will be convenient for them to grasp the technical skills in a much better way. For instance, a student interested in banking will understand accounts and mathematics much easily if there are no other unrelated subjects bound to be studied. Moreover, by the time they reach the universities, students have studied all the basic subjects during initial education, and are clear about their future professional course, therefore, they should have focused studies during tertiary education at universities. Another point to consider, is that the chances of professional success are tremendously increased, if targeted approach is followed. In other words, a person studying in the university with an aim to acquire technical knowledge, having no extra burden of unrelated subjects, is more likely to succeed than the person without a focused approach. It is due to the fact that by studying subjects related to a designated subject enables a student to refine the skills and knowledge of the future field to the highest level. For instance, an engineer needs to be good in his subject to excel in his profession rather than mastering other subjects at an engineering university. In conclusion, universities should have a focused study plan related to the future profession of the students to brighten the chances of a successful professional life. I sincerely hope that initial schooling should be strong enough to introduce the students to basic subjects to enable them to choose a profession for the future, by the time they reach universities.