Some people think that they have to work harder than others in their employment. Why do some people work harder? Is it always good to work hard?

Some people work hard and are diligent while others are less tough and more easy going. Different people have different reasons and actions to pursue their dreams. In my view, being enthusiastic to work is desirable up to a point; however, too much work can be counterproductive and even unhealthy. At the present time, there are factors driving people to work hard. The cost of living has been rising which prompts many individuals to work harder order to gain extra income. In turn, higher income will make their lives more comfortab In addition, people might want to achieve a higher position in the job which culd be beneficial in relation to pride and success. Finally, the other reason might be self-satisfactory as there are people dedicated to their job and do not distinguish between work and life. However, it is believed that moderation is key. Being too much obsessed with work can bring about a counterproductive effect. That is to say, officers, who continuously sit in front of the computer screen for many hours, are prone to the poor eyesight and back pain in the long run. Besides, they tend to have less time to spend with their loved ones making their relationship negatively affected. In short, there is no doubt that hard-working people tend to suffer some physical and mental problems. In conclusion, although there are forms of extrinsic motivation that drive people to work more diligently than others to gain higher financial security, people should take into account other intrinsic forms of motivation including health, relationship and delight to work.