Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in.

Recently, the time children have to spend other than their parents is increasing due to the fact that both of their parents are tied in working. While some may argue that this is because the recent economic situation, I believe parents want to ensure their children have a satisfactory and successful life. First, the reason why parents work all day long to the point that they cannot spare time spending with their children stems from an anxiety towards future. Specifically, they want to save the earnings in order to assure their children can go to a college. As a matter of fact, the tuition of colleges is typically exorbitant in all countries. This fact largely urges parents to be engaged in works. Another factor is that they want children to have a satisfactory life without a lack of anything they need. In other words, even if working reduces their time with their children, they want to ensure children are gratified with the status quo. According to the research, it has been discovered that the level of poverty determines children’s happiness. If parents continued focusing on working and not prioritizing the time with their children, numerous problems could happen, such as criminal activities, getting involved with delinquent peers, and misunderstanding their parents do not love them. First, children are likely to get involved with delinquent peers which eventually leads to criminal activities. Since they have plenty of time hanging out with others, they might get close to those delinquent peers out of curiosity. Additionally, as children easily succumb to whatever they are interested in, they might cause issues illegally. Another consequence that is posed by a lack of time spending with parents is a low self-esteem. In fact, the study shows that children are often hesitant to ask what they want, especially when their parents seem hectic. Therefore, this might consequently make them afraid of interacting with others, and cannot see themselves as worthwhile individuals. In conclusion, the fact that parents spend less amount of time with their offspring is not because they want to rather they want them to lead a successful life. However, since raising child is costly, this unable them to spare time with their children. Meanwhile, if this situation lasts over a long period, many negative consequences can occur.