In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The high traffic congestion problem is these days ubiquitous. Experts throughout the developed and developing countries assert that the authorities should tax private vehicles and use the collected funds to improve the public transportation. This essay will depict the paramount benefits and drawbacks of such a maneuver. Firstly, let us take a look at the advantages of the issue. The salient one is the fact that the public transportation system in myriads of cities needs to be improved. The pundits indicate the scarcity of buses and trams the most relevant issue to solve. The fact that these vehicles are overcrowded is one of the reasons why a plethora of individuals do not use these means of transportation at all. To tackle this problem, the government needs to collect a considerable sum of money, and it is only possible by taxing private cars. Furthermore, the other vital upside is the fact that cars are detrimental to the air quality, since they generate tons of harmful exhaust fumes. The specialists deem that this tax will help to reduce the number of cars in city centers rapidly and this critical problem will vanish. On the other hand, there are disadvantages of it as well. A cornucopia of people need their cars to commute to their workplaces. In light of the fact that there is no public transportation in some villages and it not profitable to create a bus line, and only way they can get to their job are private cars. A profusion of them will not be able to afford paying this tax annually, owing to the fact that the revenue in the countryside in much lower that in urban agglomeations. Moreover, recent survey conducted by the local newspaper “The Daily Problems” indicates that 87% of all the commuters that use their own cars will not use public transportaion, even after all the improvements. To recapitulate, there are both merits and flaws that taxing private cars brings. When it comes to plus points, these are: a bigger number of vehicles and better air quality. Nevertheless, there are also disadvantages of this issue. The preeminent is that some people will not be able to pay them and a numerous commuters claim that they will not use public transportation anyway.