Some people think that the range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect.

The Internet has influenced every segment of society, and people have become overdependent on it. In today's modern world, many people think that the internet has replaced the traditional way of reading books. I believe that in near future electronic devices will be a major source of reading books, and in my opinion paper based books will soon be completely replaced by the internet. To start with, the internet has made reading more convenient due to which people prefer to read online. As the reading trends have changed, it can be clearly predicted that in near future traditional paper books will be completely disappeared. Traditional libraries will be replaced by e-libraries. For example, multiple studies have suggested that nowadays, students prefer to read on electronic devices such as phones, laptops, and tablets so that they don’t have to carry all the books. Furthermore, according to a survey, many well-known universities have already successfully transformed their libraries into e-libraries. Moreover, in my opinion, the growing popularity of online reading is a positive development. For instance, due to the increasing volume of online readers paper based books will eventually stop publishing, in the near future there will be no need to publish paper books. By doing that an eco-friendly environment will be encouraged and huge sums of money could be saved. Also, I believe that e-libraries are more convenient and can be accessed from any part of the world due to which literacy rate can be increased underdeveloped countries. In conclusion, the Internet has already changed reading trends, and due to the ease and accessibility of the internet, it can be easily foreseen that in near future paper-based books will be completely replaced by digital books.