Some people think that the quality of a product drives its sales and advertising is an unnecessary form of entertainment.

Advertisements have been considered as a form of sales boosting factor for a long time. However, some people opine that the quality of a product is a clue to sell more products and advertising is not necessarily needed, since it is only used to entertain people. On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that quality is the most pivotal factor to gain customers. Most individuals focus on product quality first, when they rank product attributes for themselves, and they put it higher comparing with other aspects of a product, such as price, design, usability or functionality. Furthermore, product quality is of an utmost significance to keep existing customers and I believe that it brings a number of benefits to companies. For example, due to the fact that retaining customers is much cheaper than attracting new ones, both small and large businesses get higher return on investment owing to high quality products. On the other hand, not only quality, but also marketing is vital for sales. If product quality is a key factor for brand loyalty, advertisements guarantee brand awareness. For instance, nowadays more and more businesses are being inclined to use storytelling in their commercials and they target on different customer segments ranging from kids to seniors in their different ads. Hence, memorable advertisements trigger more individuals to try new products resulting in boosting sales. Additionally, marketing a tool for start-ups and new businesses to demonstrate themselves to the public. As young businesses have few customers, ads help them to gain popularity. Therefore, the role of marketing ought not to be ignored. In conclusion, while the significance of product quality is highly admitted to keep customers, the role of advertisements should also be highlighted as they attract new consumers and give information about products leading an increase in sales.