Some people believe that a person’s culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence.

Culture is an umbrella term, which encompasses social behavior, knowledge, beliefs, arts, laws, customs, capabilities, and habits of the individuals. Although it is sometimes thought that one’s birthplace affects one’s culture, others believe that the native land does not have a major influence on one’s personality. In my opinion, I consider that the nation of origin certainly shapes the culture of people, however, some minor modifications to the culture are quite essential. On the one hand, some people have the perspective that it is the mainland, which sets the foundation in shaping a person’s culture. According to them, people spend their childhood in their native land and interact with people and above all, their grandparents who inculcate the traditional values by sharing mythological stories as a treasure with them. Grandchildren nurture these values and morals taught, eventually, these pieces of culture become their habits and are spread to whosoever they interact with. Yoga, for instance, was embarked by a saint in India, but it flourished to other parts of the world because wherever he went, he did not fail to impart his knowledge, values, and beliefs to others. Thus, he retained whatever he learned from his birthplace and indeed made concerted efforts to pass it on to others. On the other hand, it is often believed that owing to globalization, traditional cultures are fading and everyone is adopting the western culture depicting a minor role that people’s native land plays. For example, Indian Women used to wear typical saris and traditional suits but after the internationalization, several ladies and girls tend to wear various kinds of jeans such as distressed or flared jeans which were prohibited in the past time. Consequently, it is often observed by some that after years of implementation of the globalization policy, the birthplace has negligible influence on people. Finally, in my view, while a nation in which a person is born is indispensable in cultivating cultural values, it is inevitable to modify some cultural teachings in order to live peacefully in today’s globalized world. To illustrate, take Indian girls, some native places posed the restriction on them to study as they considered, girls ought to be confined to the four walls of their house. This old culture has been modified to some extent as these days women excel in every field but retain all other values they were being taught. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I opine that people nurture cultural values gained from their native land, however, only minor changes are made according to the changing world.