The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, various food commodities are exported from distant nations. A section of people opines that it is always a renowned idea if citizens opt to purchase and consume locally produced groceries, as it would be an added advantage for both the socio-economic development and our surroundings. Certainly, the benefits offered from this notion outweigh the demerits, as everything will be available for people much profitably. On a positive note, there are indeed a lot of benefits associated with this proposal. First and foremost, it would aid in the betterment of a nation when its citizens start to depend on natively produced goods, as they are in turn contributing towards the socio-economic development of their country when they pay for the same. Apart from that, people do not have to pay double taxation for the commodities exported from foreign places and can save their budget effectively. To cite a relevant example, the farm-fresh Kashmir apples are much cheaper than the ones that have been imported from New Zealand Additionally, it will enhance the employment opportunities for local farmers which will encourage them to cultivate more quality products to meet the supply and demand of the market. People can fetch and relish the real taste of locally produced products such as vegetables and fruits which are much less in preservatives and other detrimental agents. Although, from a globalisation perspective it is beneficial to have import and export of commodities, in the longer term it erodes local food traditions. To conclude, from the above-mentioned analysis, it can be acknowledged that locally produced goods offer dual benefits in terms of economic prosperity and flourishment of local and regional produce resisting the competition from overseas.