In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Although, in days gone by, commuting to the workplace was followed by numerous individuals, working from the comfort of one’s home is all the rage these days owing to the development and increased usage of technological gadgets. People can save their money which otherwise is spent on traveling to work and there will be less traffic congestion but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are several benefits to performing work from home. Firstly, this change in work style reduces the cost of commuting drastically. During the Coronavirus pandemic, for instance, several individuals were working online. This remote working helped them cut their expenditure on traveling to some extent, which was spent either on fuel or the ticket price for using public transportation. This considerable reduction in expenditure provided an incentive to save for future contingencies. Secondly, this change aids in reducing traffic jams caused mostly by people who travel to their place of work. This not only helps in improving the environment by minimizing levels of pollution but also saves time squandered when stuck in traffic. For example, recent research stated that there is a reduction in the average time which was required to reach the workplace. As a result, time saved due to cut in traffic could be used for any other productive work. On the other hand, one problem associated with people working from home is a work-life imbalance. In other words, it blurs the boundaries between private and professional lives because employers want their employees to be on call for all hours of the day. As a result, workers do not get time to wind down and spent time with their families. Another issue is that while telecommuting, workers often face distractions usually from their kids or some other household chores. This eventually reduces the productivity of employees which is neither beneficial for workers nor for the companies for which they work. In conclusion, while people benefit from this shift in the method of working, it can also lead to instability in work-life fit or face distractions from surrounding when working from home.