Some people think that the profession of a teacher is important and noble, while others claim it has lost its positions and it is not as respected as it used to be

A teacher is a person who plays a very important role in children's development, upbringing and education. One should have some particular traits of character to be a success in this profession. I strongly feel that the profession of a teacher is one of the most important professions in the world. A teacher is always responsible for his or her pupils. He or she should encourage their inner development, protect them from any negative influence and watch their progress carefully. A teacher's responsibility is not only to educate a child. He or she should also understand pupils' feelings and dreams, share their problems and give good advice. A real teacher is a person who can inspire his pupils with interest and love for his or her subject. What is more, a teacher may even become as important for children as their parents. However, some people believe that nowadays teachers are not as respected as they used to be. Unfortunately, this noble profession is not well-paid and it makes some people think that it is not prestigious. Modern society respects money and power. That is why young people try to choose professions which can make them rich and influential. Everybody is eager to make a career and to become famous and successful. But good teachers do not strive for money or fame. Their only concern is children's welfare. To conclude, we should have the greatest respect for teachers. They are deeply devoted to their job in spite of all problems and difficulties. We should be grateful to our teachers for their help, patience and professionalism.