Some people think that the news channels and media nowadays have sensationalised and influenced people’s lives in negative ways. Others disagree and say that it is also positive. (Sep 2021)

Various people argue that news and media use sensationalism in the current times, which have a negative influence on the audience, however, others believe it has a positive effect. This essay will discuss both sides and agrees with the former statement as sensationalism leads to a toxic environment and contributes to the growth of yellow journalism. With sensational news, facts are provided with an extra zing factor. There is an entertainment quotient attached to the information to make it alluring as well as eye-catching. Since we are in the age of information, there is so much data around us that it is quite overbearing to pay attention to everything. Furthermore, humans have a low-attention span and if nothing interests our minds, we are quite likely to ignore it to move to the next thing until we find something sensual and captivating. Hence, the need of the hour is to help humans retain information through a different perspective. Adding opinion, for example, is a way to give a unique spin to the media reports. Consequently, it gives people a lens to ponder on, and form their judgment as well as cease the critical data in their minds. Despite of this utility of sensationalism in mass media, it is an extremely detrimental method to convey information to society. Since the advent of journalism and mass communication, a form of news-telling has appeared which is termed as yellow journalism, where lies are cooked to gain high views by a TV channel so that they accrue greater monetary profits. Spreading awareness through facts has been corrupted by forged facts and figures by using tools like drama, eye-catching wordplay, emotions. Subsequently, the truth is overshadowed by wrong facts and people become victims of misinformation. In my opinion, a country that feeds on incorrect news as well as white lies is prone to civic unrest which can disrupt the integrity of the nation. It can manifest into wars among religions. A clear example could be of how news channels reported a controversial case of a famous Muslim actor in India where he was allegedly arrested under a drug case. Despite being a case of illegal usage of narcotics, various big media conglomerates particularly chose the angle of religion, in the name of TRP, causing great distress between the two prominent communities of India namely Hindu and Muslim. To conclude, the difference in arguments of whether sensual sharing of facts and figures is healthy or not pertains. Although, I fully believe it to cause havoc in the world and pave way for untrue journalistic ideals.